Friday, June 30, 2006

Breaking News: Being Brazil Does Not Make You Invincible

I'm a little sick of seeing coverage of Brazil talking about the fact that they are not living up to expectations, that Brazil fans are upset, etc. All they have done is win every game they have played, some against fairly tough competition, by a combined total of 10-1. Real disappointing.

This is soccer, everyone. Calm down. A 4-1 win in soccer is a butt whoopin'. (Think of it as a 28-7 football game). Brazil entered this cup the clear favorite to win it all, and they are still the favorite. They face a real test soon against France. Hopefully they'll beat France at least 26-0 so that the media will get off their back, but that's unlikely.

My call for the World Cup championship game: Brazil over Germany, 2-1.

Tuesday, June 27, 2006

Mock NBA Draft

I think this is going to be looked at in the future as a weak draft. There are a few solid players toward the top who will be starters in the league for a while, but only a small handful (Bargnani, Morrison, Roy) with a chance to be special.

Top 10 picks in this year's NBA draft:

(1) Andrea Bargnani, F/C, Toronto Raptors. It appears that the Raps will keep their pick. They claim that they have narrowed it to Bargnani and LaMarcus Aldridge, but they appear to have tipped their hand by hiring VP and Assistant GM Maurizio Gherardini. Bargnani was the star of Gherardini's team in Italy, Benetton Treviso. Bargnani has drawn favorable comparisons to Dirk Nowitski in a year where the Dallas Mavericks did extremely well, which has helped his stock tremendously. If Bargnani pans out, he and Bosh should make for a quick, athletic front court. The Raptors will have to build around these players by getting other personnel who can run like the Suns.

(2) LaMarcus Aldridge, F/C, Chicago Bulls. The Bulls will happily take Aldridge, who, when ready, will round out an incredibly talented young starting lineup for the Bulls. Together with Ben Gordon, Kirk Heinrich, Tyson Chandler, and Luol Deng, Aldridge's Bulls will be a contender by the end of this decade.

(3) Rudy Gay, SF, Charlotte Bobcats. Now that MJ is in town, time for some bad decisions. Gay will join the Bobcats, collect a fat paycheck, and put forth the same sort of half hearted effort that you saw him put forth in college. The Bobcats will continue to suck.

(4) Tyrus Thomas, PF, Portland Trailblazers. Thomas is a talented young man. It's not his fault that he's overrated. It's even less his fault that he will wind up in the most disfunctional organization in all of sports. Thomas will go to the Blazers, and hopefully he will be traded early enough so that it doesn't ruin his career as a solid bench player.

(5) Brandon Roy, PG, Atlanta Hawks. ROY stands for Rookie of the Year, and that's what Brandon Roy will be. He will start right away for a bad Hawks team, win about 20 games, and put up 18 points and 7 assists per game. Mediocre superstar Joe Johnson will have the Hawks cap strapped for many years to come, so don't expect any miracles out of Brandon Roy. It will be many years until he gets a taste of the NBA playoffs, but it won't be Roy's fault. He's a future all star.

(6) Adam Morrison, SF, Minnesota Timberwolves. This is a great fit. Morrison won't need to start right away for the T-Wolves. He can play behind Ricky Davis for a year or two while he learns to play some D and works on his endurance. In the meantime, he'll become a fan favorite in Minnesota...he is just their style with his gangly body, unconventional style and eccentric personality. Comparisons to Bird are premature, unwarranted, and outright unfair...but if Morrison can learn not to be a defensive liability, he will continue doing what he did in college...shoot the lights out and put up gaudy numbers. Eventually, Morrison will become the T-Wolves primary building block in the post-Garnett era (which, we all know, is inevitable. Garnett probably has a Knicks jersey at home already).

(7) Patrick O'Bryant, C, Boston Celtics. Raef LaFrentz is not the answer. Kendrick Perkins probably isn't either. Maybe O'Bryant will be...but probably not. In need of a big man, the Celtics will reach for O'Bryant with this pick, and get a quality big man who is very coachable and definitely has some upside. However, O'Bryant did not play against top talent in college (excluding, of course, Bradley's miracle tournament run), and the transition to the NBA game will be far from seamless. O'Bryant has the talent to be a decent NBA center, but he will never be the dominant force the Celtics hope he will be.

(8) Marcus Williams, PG, Houston Rockets. Williams is a quality pure PG who will fill a gaping hole in the Rocket lineup. He will start right away and won't be relied upon for scoring with Yao and McGrady on the floor, so he can rely on his strengths: protecting the ball and playing solid D. Williams will make the Rockets a better team right away.

(9) Ronnie Brewer, PG, Golden State Warriors. The Warriors like players who create mismatches, and they have plenty of shooters and scorers, so Brewer should be a good fit. The 6' 7" point guard is not much of a shooter, but he can play great D. He won't need to score being in the same backcourt as J-Rich. With the Fish entering his 30's and no real plan B at the point guard position, Brewer will be the Warriors PG of the future. This will turn out to be a decent but not great pick...like most picks by Golden State.

(10) Randy Foye, G, Seattle Supersonics. With no pressing needs, the Sonics will draft the best available player in Foye, and will thank themselves for it later. Foye will come off the bench, rotating in for Ridnour and Ray Allen. Foye's future in this league is bright, but he may have to wait his turn with the Sonics. Playing behind Ray Allen doesn't result in a lot of minutes.

Saturday, June 24, 2006

Oz Fest 2006

Ozzie Guillen has kicked up an enormous storm of human fecal matter through a combination of insentitivity, candor, and adherence to baseball's culture. The resulting aftermath leaves a lot of interesting and unanswered questions about baseball, sensitivity, and culture in general.

It all started when Guillen ordered rookie pitcher Shawn Tracey to bean A.J. Pierzynski in retaliation for White Sox players getting hit by balls. Tracey apparently stood up against this order and refused to do it, which immediately resulted in him getting chewed out in the dugout by Guillen and shipped back to the minors, where he will likely stay unless/until he is traded.

This outburst prompted ESPN analyst Jay Moriatti to write a highly critical article of Guillen, which essentially said that Guillen has lost his mind, that the practice of retaliation by pitchers is dangerous, that Guillen was wrong for insisting that his rookie pitcher participate in that practice, and that Guillen is senseless, immature, and needs to get control of himself and grow up.

When asked about this article by the media, Guillen referred to Moriatti and his article using various explitives, including a three letter slur that begins with "F" and refers to homosexuals. That's when the situation really got out of hand. The media, of course, spread this information all over.

Guillen attempted to defend his use of the offensive terminology with the following excuses: (1) I'm from another country where that word means "weak and cowardly," not "gay" (2) I have lots of gay friends, and (3) the guy who cuts my hair is gay, and I have been to a Madonna concert.

At first, Guillen refused to back down from his comments, but he has since been persuaded to apologize, at least to the gay community. Guillen still refuses to apologize to Mariotti. Guillen has since been fined by the league and ordered to take "sensitivity training."

This story has been written about by virtually anyone and everyone who covers baseball in the media, for obvious reasons. However, most of this coverage has missed the things that are really interesting about this situation. For the most part, the media coverage has simply blasted Guillen's terminology as inappropriate, offensive, and hurtful. It was all of those things, but that's not what is really interesting about this story. What I find interesting is the following:

(1) First off, the practice of throwing at hitters in baseball is itself very interesting to me. It is very similar to the concept of "enforcers" in hockey. Basically, in hockey, if you cross check a star player, you better run for cover, because you are going to get hit. Very, very hard. In fact, you are likely to find yourself in a fight in the near future, if you can stay on the ice long enough. Because of this, of course, it is very rare that NHL star players are hit hard. This results in less injury to those players, which results in the NHL producing a better product generally...people continue to watch NHL hockey to watch those players play. Everyone understands that's how it works, and everyone on the ice is safer because of it. No amount of tight officiating or rule changes could be as effective at protecting the NHL's stars as this well known and common practice.

Likewise, in baseball, the practice of retaliation for beanballs, whether deliberate or not, is an important way to protect hitters who put themselves in harm's way on an almost daily basis during the season. People who are worth millions of dollars a year line up with a small piece of wood, while baseballs are hurled in their direction at high speeds. When that happens, you need to have an effective way to ensure that those people standing there with that little piece of wood don't get hit by the ball very often...otherwise, you could get a lot more injuries, Major League Baseball would have an inferior product, and everyone would get paid less. Everyone involved with baseball understands this (except, apparently, Shawn Tracey).

However, there is a conflicting goal...command of the inside of the plate. Most pitchers need to take command of the inside of the plate to succeed. The pitcher needs the batter to believe that the ball could come in tight at any time to keep him guessing. Jamming hitters leads to easy ground outs. Batters will come in close to the plate to try to take control of that precious inside territory, to limit the range of pitches they might see and improve their chances of getting a hit. Thus, it is common practice for pitchers to "brush them off" by throwing an inside pitch that would probably hit them if they don't move out of the way, but probably won't hit them assuming they make any effort to move. (This is why many pitchers are unhappy with Barry Bonds...he is allowed to wear armor which enables him to control the inside of the plate and eliminate the inside pitch, which undoubtedly contributes to his success as a hitter).

Thus, the practice of retaliatory beaning serves the purpose of balancing these competing interests...allowing pitchers a chance to command the inside of the plate, while ensuring that pitchers take care not to hit batters. Pitchers know that they need to throw inside sometimes, but they also know that if they get careless and accidentally hit someone, that someone on their own team is likely to get hit, and it will be their fault. This ensures that pitchers will take due care to avoid hitting batters, even in situations where giving up a walk wouldn't be a big deal.

Bottom line...in the end, fewer batters are hit by pitches because of the practice of retaliatory beaning. Thus, there are fewer injuries, baseball has a better product, and the players make more money. Everyone wins. Hitters who fall victim to retaliatory pitches understand this. When the retaliation pitch is done correctly and professionally, it hits the batter somewhere where the pain will be minimal (generally the upper thigh, hip, or butt...the pitch should never be much above the waist). Such pitches rarely elicit any sort of confrontation. The batter knows what's going on, and they appreciate that they were hit in a professional manner. Sure, they don't like it...but most understand why it happened and know that it is, in a way, for the greater good of the game. They brush it off and jog to first base...and that's the end of it. The system works.

(2) By the way, for all of the above reasons, Jay Moriatti is an idiot who has no business writing about baseball. Up until he used inappropriate language, Ozzie Guillen was absolutely right about everything that he said. Moriatti's article was unduly and unreasonably insulting and disrespectful to Ozzie, and Moriatti was just plain wrong. Moriatti obviously doesn't understand basic principles of baseball, incentive structures, and economics. He was just out to get Ozzie Guillen, and Guillen is not the sort of guy to put up with that, especially out of a guy who clearly doesn't know what the hell he's talking about. It's unfortunate in a way that Guillen took his criticism of Moriatti too far, because as a result Guillen ends up looking like the villian, when in fact he was absolutely right...except, of course, for the language he used to make his point.

(3) Shawn Tracey will never throw another pitch in the major leagues. Refusing to listen to his manager and misunderstanding the unwritten rules of baseball has ruined his career. He certainly won't be back up for the White Sox, and I'm not sure that any team in the MLB would want a marginal relief pitcher who doesn't listen to his manager. Time for Shawn Tracey to look into another line of work.

(4) Ozzie Guillen's response to his use of derrogatory language about homosexuals was much more interesting than the use of the word itself. Guillen responded with the traditional "I have gay friends, I like gay people" approach, which, of course, just doesn't fly. Then he took it a step further, saying that his hairdresser is gay and that he has been to a Madonna concert. I think these comments are more insulting to the gay community than the original use of the slur itself. Guillen is essentially mocking the media and the public for making a big deal out of this. While those comments might be good for a chuckle amongst those who merely pretend to have respect for the gay community, I think they just make the situation worse. Far from an apology or even an excuse, those comments are just a mockery of the idea that there is something wrong with using derrogatory and hurtful language to describe groups of people.

(5) Guillen's more interesting defense, however, was the cultural defense. Guillen claims that where he is from, using that word merely means that you are calling someone weak, a coward, less than a man. He didn't mean to refer to homosexual people per se...he was just saying that Moriatti is not manly.

It occurs to me, however, that the word is used in American culture in exactly the same way. When a guy calls another guy a derogatory term for homosexual, they aren't really questioning that person's sexuality or implying that they are sexually attracted to other men. What they are saying is that they are weak, feminine, and something less than a man. That, of course, is precisely what is wrong with the term. Gay people are not "something less than a man." Calling someone gay (or using worse terminology to call someone gay) uses a reference to homosexuals to invoke connotations that consist of inappropriate and improper stereotypes of gay people. It implies that being gay is something bad that should be looked down upon. It perpetuates the idea that being gay is abnormal, inferior, and that a gay man is not a man at all. That's precisely what makes the terminology hurtful and destructive.

So, in short, it doesn't matter whether Ozzie Guillen meant "Jay Moriatti is a homosexual" or "Jay Moriatti is weak and cowardly." If he meant the former, he implies that being a homosexual is a bad thing. If he meant the latter, he implies that being homosexual makes you weak and cowardly, and that weak and cowardly men are like homosexuals. Either way, it's offensive...and, frankly, American culture uses the term in the latter sense far more than in the former sense, just like Ozzie Guillen does. Guillen might think he is simply misunderstanding American culture, but he is wrong. He appears to understand it perfectly.

(6) An unfortunate side effect to all of this trouble is that it will persuade those associated with professional atheletics to be even less candid than they already are. Sports reporting has become extremely dry and formulaic, in part because any athelete with any sense whatsoever knows that if he or she says anything interesting, it will be blown out of proportion and can have a detrimental impact on their career. John Rocker is a great example of a person who ruined his career by speaking his mind a bit too much.

Unfortunately, this "sensitivity training" that Guillen is about to recieve will most likely consist of the following: "Hey Ozzie...you like that fat paycheck? Then keep your damn mouth shut. Talk to your team, talk to your family, talk to other people in baseball, but for God's sake, don't talk to reporters. When you do talk to reporters, don't say anything interesting. Here is a script of things to say when you win, and here's a script of things to say when you lose. Stick to the script if you value your job."

Ozzie is not likely to learn a damn thing, and baseball's internal culture is undoubtedly going to remain as intolerant as it is now. The only difference will be that one of the few guys in baseball who has the guts to tell it like it is might just know better next time.

Thursday, June 22, 2006

Ghana With the Wind

The United States obviously has a long way to go before they can claim to be capable of fielding a respectable soccer team. The U.S. was placed in the toughest group in this year's World Cup, and yet still a chance to advance out of the group was essentially gift wrapped for them. Italy put away the Czech Republic, and all the U.S. had to do was beat Ghana...but they couldn't handle it.

No disrespect to Ghana, who has fielded a surprisingly good soccer team that Brazil best watch out for...but the U.S. should have taken this one. The fact that they didn't is proof positive that the #5 rating was far too high, and that the U.S.A. is not yet a real player on the world soccer stage.

Why is it that the U.S. can't compete with the rest of the world in soccer? Easy. We have too many great sports in this country. The best atheletes in Ghana are soccer players. The best atheletes in the United States play basketball, football, hockey, baseball...they run track, they swim, they ski, they do roller derby. They do just about anything but soccer. We just don't devote our atheletic resources to the world's game. We devote it to our own games.

So, what if the United States were as soccer crazy as the rest of the world? What would our world team look like? Here's my guess:

Forwards: Randy Moss, Dwayne Wade, Kobe Bryant. All quick, wirey, and eager to score.

Midfielders: Terrell Owens, LeBron James, Joe Thornton. Tough, gritty guys who can knock out some teeth and score from far away.

Defensemen: Ray Lewis, Shaq, LaVar Arrington, Mike Tyson. They wouldn't even need to do anything. Ronaldo would run like hell away from these guys.

Goalies: Ben Wallace, Ryan Miller. Nobody blocks shots like Big Ben. If he can swat a basketball, he can knock down a shot on goal. And if Miller can block a tiny puck travelling at 150 miles per hour, surely he can knock down a large soccer ball travelling at a modest 75 miles per hour. Miller might not be the NHL's best goalie, but he's arguably the best born in the U.S.A.

So cheer up, America. We still have the world's best atheletes. They just don't play soccer.

Wednesday, June 21, 2006

Three Random Thoughts on the Miami Heat NBA Title

(1) The media has an NBA story that even a cynic like me can feel good about...and they are completely dropping the ball. Where is the discussion about Alonzo Mourning overcoming his kidney ailments to come back and win an NBA title? Media outlets will stretch incredibly far to find feel-good stories about overcoming adversity, and most of them are contrived and borderline on insulting the fan. This one is real, and we don't hear much about it. Weird.

(2) I am seeing a lot of articles and columns about Dwayne Wade being the next MJ. Wade is a great player and deserves a lot of credit for this title, but MJ he is not. That comparison is absolutely ridiculous at this point in his young career, and I'm sure he'd be the first to admit that.

(3) Ahem...who called Heat in 6? (Hint...see Shaq is Baq, posted by the Admiral himself on June 4). I must be a genius. So why doesn't anyone read my blog?

Friday, June 16, 2006

Jerry Stackhouse Hits Like a Girl

Shaq is the bigger man. In more ways than one.

After taking a ridiculous hard foul from Stackhouse in Game 4, Shaq refrained from complaining to the media or the refs, who did not throw Stackhouse out of the game as they obviously should have. Instead, Shaq simply said that it was an old school hard foul, that people have come after him like that his whole career, and that his daughter tackles him harder than Jerry did. Typical Shaq...he will never show an opponent that they got to him. Damp is soft, Vlade was a flop machine, and Stackhose hits like a girl.

The league has pulled Stackhouse from Game 5. For some reason, this is controversial. I don't know if Mark Cuban saw the same collision I did, but Stackhouse didn't even make a nominal effort to pretend like he was going for the ball. He literally folded his arms and went shoulder first into Shaq as he was in the air to either lay the ball up or dunk it. It was as flagrant as a foul can get.

A lot of people might say "But he's so big! He can take more punishment than other people can. If you want to stop him from getting the shot off, you have to foul him hard." That's nonsense. The rules are the rules, they apply to everyone, and there is nothing in the NBA rules that says you get to level a guy if he's twice your size. They are the same rules for every player. If Shaq had laid into Stackhouse like that, Stackhouse would have woken up in a hospital bed a week later, and Shaq would have been suspended for the rest of the series.

That's not to say that Shaq doesn't get his share of love from the refs. Sometimes Shaq camps in the paint for so long, he should get a tent and a propane stove. However, the fact that Shaq is large doesn't mean that other players have the right to try to clobber him. If you can't stop Shaq from getting his shot off with a normal, going-for-the-ball foul, then he deserves to get the shot off. Aside from that, he is also entitled to the same protection of his personal health and well being from officials as every other player. Shaq isn't as young as he used to be, and despite Shaq's propensity for brushing things off, Stack's tackle could have done some real damage to the elder giant.

Shaq's size is part of his talent. It shouldn't be held against him. The rules are what they are, and they shouldn't be bent just because one player happens to be really, really good. Should James Posey be able to play on stilts because it's not fair that Dirk is so much taller than him?

Speaking of Posey, that guy is amazing at drawing charges. Posey drops more charges than a Colorado prosecutor. He's not much of an offensive player, but he can D up with the best of them.

I was feeling a little nervous about my "Heat in 6" call, but now I'm standing by it. Heat in 6. Okay, maybe 7.

Monday, June 12, 2006

Ben Roethlistupid

What's more fun than making millions of dollars, being the young, talented quarterback of the best team in the NFL, being adored by tens of thousands of fans, winning Super Bowls, and eventually being inducted into the NFL Hall of Fame? Apparently, riding a motorcycle without a helmet.

Big Ben has apparently given it all up for the thrill of the open road. He is the latest in what is becoming a fairly long list of high profile professional athletes who decided it might be fun to ruin their career by engaging in dangerous behavior. Motorcycles alone have claimed at least a few prominent careers recently. Remember that guard at Duke, Jay Williams? His career ended before it started because he wanted to putt putt around. Now, after a few years of rehab, he is struggling to make a team. Jeff Kent made up an outlandish excuse for his motorcycle injury...he claimed he hurt himself while washing his truck. Jeff Kent is a pretty good hitter, but not a very good liar.

Terry Bradshaw told Big Ben that he should wait until he retires to ride his motorcycle. Big Ben did what previously seemed impossible. He made Terry Bradshaw look intelligent.

Saturday, June 10, 2006

U.S. Soccer Faces Death

This World Cup includes a U.S. Soccer team which demands respect. This U.S. team may be the first with a real, legitimate shot at doing some damage and even winning the World Cup. Led by midfielders Landon Donovan and DaMarcus Beasley, the U.S. has finally reached a respectable level in national soccer, and can claim to be competitive with the rest of the world.

So what does the U.S. get for finally fielding a team that is actually getting the attention of the Brazil's and Germany's of the world? They get stuck in the group of death. The U.S. must finish among the top two in their group, which also includes the powerhouse Czech Republic, powerful Italy, and a surprisingly strong Ghana. Any of these teams would be likely to emerge from any other group, but only two will advance to the big show.

The opening game on Monday will be the most critical for the U.S. A loss to the Czech Republic probably would shut the door on the U.S. in terms of getting out of their group. However, a tie against the Czech Republic would put the U.S. in a great position to advance, and a win would virtually guarantee it. Though a strong showing against Italy and a win against Ghana are also necessary, the opening game is the most critical. The U.S. has a chance to show the world that they are ready to compete with the rest of the world against the Czech Republic.

Wednesday, June 07, 2006

It Ain't Over 'Til Grimsley Sings

By now, I'm sure you're all aware of the latest and most significant chapter in the saga that is drugs in baseball. While it's startling now, this Jason Grimsley business is the best thing that could possibly happen to baseball. Here's why:

(1) It will wake up the fans. Guess what, everyone? It's not just Barry Bonds using illegal performance enhancing drugs. And it's not just sluggers. And it's not just hitters. PITCHERS ARE DOING IT TOO, PEOPLE! And not just good pitchers, but journeyman pitchers like Jason Grimsley. And once the feds follow up on all the juicy gossip they got from Grimsley, the fans will have to face reality. Most players in baseball are on something. It's not a small group of bad people...it's a big group of people and a bad system. This isn't about Jason Grimsley, or Barry Bonds, or Jose Canseco. It's about baseball.

(2) It will force Bud Selig's hand. It will send the message that something real needs to be done. You can't put a band-aid on a mortal wound. Guess what, Bud Selig? Doing one worthless investigation and focusing it all on Barry Bonds, and testing for a few of the drugs you know all the players are using but not testing for the other drugs you know all the players are using...that's not going to cut it. It might fool some of the people some of the time, but it's time to stop focusing on perception and start focusing on reality. This problem will not go away until Major League Baseball makes it go away.

(3) It will shake up the players. Who knows? Maybe some players might voluntarily stop using HGH and amphetamines before baseball starts testing for it, for fear that they might have to face the same legal consequences for using and possessing controlled substances as the rest of the population. Guess what, baseball players? Just because you are famous and make a lot of money doesn't mean the law doesn't apply to you.

Most of all, hopefully the message will get out to high school and college kids that despite appearances, performance enhancing drugs are illegal, harmful, and wrong. Maybe the next generation of atheletes will be on the level. Let's hope so, for their sake and for the sake of the game.

People are going to start pointing to Jason Grimsley as a rat and a coward, who sold out his friends in baseball to get away with what he did. Maybe that's all true. Even if it is, he will have done more for baseball than anyone since Jackie Robinson.

Maybe there's hope after all.

Sunday, June 04, 2006

Shaq is Baq

The two teams in the NBA Finals are set, and I'm told that we should be surprised about the participants. The Mavericks, with the league's best regular season record, were supposed to bow down to the Spurs. The Pistons were supposed to roll over everyone. I bought into it too...it's hard to argue with what those teams have done in the last few years. We were all ready for another snoozer of an NBA Finals series, with two teams that are impressive, successful, and, above all, boring to watch.

But I'm not surprised, and I feel a little dumb for forgetting about the Miami Heat. The Heat would have easily won it all last year if not for an unfortunately timed injury to Wade. Shaq is a year older, but hasn't lost that much. The rest of the team is clearly better than last year's team...there are scoring options available other than Wade and Shaq, and a more mature but still extremely talented "white chocolate" is adept at getting his teammates involved, and doesn't jack up ridiculous shots the way he used to in Sacramento. If I had really been paying attention, I think it would have been obvious that the Heat were the real favorites in the East, not a Pistons team without the great Larry Brown, and without their primary cheerleader, the human victory cigar...that's right, I'm talkin' bout Darko.

As for the Mavs, they are still a strong team, and had the good fortune of the Suns taking care of the Spurs for them. Coach Avery has his team thinking about defense, and that's what got them over the hump and into the Finals.

I would like to see the Heat win it all here, for a few reasons. First and foremost, I'd like to see Zo retire with a title. After all that guy has gone through, nobody deserves it more. I would also like to see Shaq win another championship so that he can stick it to the Lakers, Phil Jackson, and Kobe Bryant. Phil and Kobe have gotten a lot of credit for winning a few championships, but the fact is that they were both merely fortunate enough to be affiliated with the same organization as the most dominant basketball player since Jordan. (Phil got to ride Jordan's coattails too. He is the luckiest, most overrated coach in the history of basketball. The man literally does nothing on the sidelines). Wade is a good story, too. Talented kid from a small college, part of a historically strong draft, and he has a team-first attitude. And another title for greaseball Pat Riley? Sure, why not?

Plus I'm not a big fan of the Mavs. The only thing I would like about seeing the Mavs take the series is the credibility it would give to Avery Johnson. He might be the best coach in basketball right now, and it would be nice to see him get his due. He is far from the prototypical NBA coach...he is young, he is black, he actually played basketball and was reasonably successful, and he cares deeply about the success of his team. Avery Johnson is proving that you don't have to get a coach out of the good ol' boys network...a smart former player who knows the game and can relate to the players will do just fine.

Avery Johnson will get his in due time...but I think Shaq turns it on in the Finals, as he is known to do, and returns to his former dominant form for just long enough to get one more ring...which he will place on his middle finger and wave at Los Angeles.

Heat in 6.

Thursday, June 01, 2006

Steve Nash...MVP?

Steve Nash may be the most fun player to watch in the NBA right now (although a good argument can be made for Kobe and LeBron), but he's not the best player in the game.

Nash can do a few things better than anyone else right now. He has a deadly 3 point shot, he's reliable from the stripe, and he is extremely impressive in his ability to slash to the rim and find open teammates. His ability to penetrate and dish is probably better than anyone else's in the league right now.

...but those are his strengths. I think he shouldn't be winning MVP's because he is an enormous defensive liability. Though his teammates pick up some of his slack, he is a big part of the reason why the Suns have to score 110 points to win a game.

You might say "But look at how good the Suns are now as opposed to before Nash showed up!"

Based on that reasoning, this year's MVP should have been LeBron James (probably should have been anyway), and the year before that should have been Rasheed Wallace. Just because you show up and the team blows up doesn't make you the MVP. The Suns were pretty good before Nash showed up...much like the Pistons prior to Sheed's arrival. The Cavs were garbage before they called LeBron's name a few years ago.

Nash is fun to watch, but right now the best player in the league is Kobe Bryant, and the most valuable player in the league is LeBron James (LeBron gets the edge on Kobe based on leadership, attitude, and what he brings to the franchise off of the court...Kobe is the better player for now, but a liability in most of those intangible aspects). Nash is, at best, in the top 5.