Ben Roethlistupid
What's more fun than making millions of dollars, being the young, talented quarterback of the best team in the NFL, being adored by tens of thousands of fans, winning Super Bowls, and eventually being inducted into the NFL Hall of Fame? Apparently, riding a motorcycle without a helmet.
Big Ben has apparently given it all up for the thrill of the open road. He is the latest in what is becoming a fairly long list of high profile professional athletes who decided it might be fun to ruin their career by engaging in dangerous behavior. Motorcycles alone have claimed at least a few prominent careers recently. Remember that guard at Duke, Jay Williams? His career ended before it started because he wanted to putt putt around. Now, after a few years of rehab, he is struggling to make a team. Jeff Kent made up an outlandish excuse for his motorcycle injury...he claimed he hurt himself while washing his truck. Jeff Kent is a pretty good hitter, but not a very good liar.
Terry Bradshaw told Big Ben that he should wait until he retires to ride his motorcycle. Big Ben did what previously seemed impossible. He made Terry Bradshaw look intelligent.
Big Ben has apparently given it all up for the thrill of the open road. He is the latest in what is becoming a fairly long list of high profile professional athletes who decided it might be fun to ruin their career by engaging in dangerous behavior. Motorcycles alone have claimed at least a few prominent careers recently. Remember that guard at Duke, Jay Williams? His career ended before it started because he wanted to putt putt around. Now, after a few years of rehab, he is struggling to make a team. Jeff Kent made up an outlandish excuse for his motorcycle injury...he claimed he hurt himself while washing his truck. Jeff Kent is a pretty good hitter, but not a very good liar.
Terry Bradshaw told Big Ben that he should wait until he retires to ride his motorcycle. Big Ben did what previously seemed impossible. He made Terry Bradshaw look intelligent.

1 Comments:
Something that just occurred to me...this is another race-in-sports issue. The media has treated Big Ben pretty gingerly through all of this, despite that he acted like an arrogant idiot kid who thought he was invincible and thus nearly blew the Steelers' chances at becoming a serious powerhouse/dynasty type of team.
Kellen Winslow, Jr., on the other hand, was dragged through the muck when his little bike mishap resulted in sitting out his rookie season. And he wasn't a franchise quarterback on a Super Bowl team. He was a rookie TE for a bad Browns team. And I'm pretty sure big Mr. Winslow was wearing his helmet, thank you very much.
What's the difference? I'm not going to say it's just their race, because Big Ben puts on a pretty likeable persona in front of the cameras, whereas Kellen Winslow, Jr. has always acted like a jackass. But the race issue should not be ignored here. If Ben Roethisberger weren't white, I doubt he'd be enjoying a free pass from the media right now.
Post a Comment
<< Home