Wednesday, January 24, 2007

Berkeley Tree Sitters

The biggest threat to Cal football isn't USC -- it's Cal's students.

Cal is in the process of badly needed renovations of its awful athletic facilities, but their plan includes building a new athletic center where there currently exists a small grove of mostly oak trees. Of course, when you tell Cal students that trees are going to be chopped down to make room for football players, you know there's going to be trouble. However, their campaign is based predominantly on lies and misinformation. What follows is the truth:

The trees in question were planted by the university, most of them either concurrently with the stadium or well after the stadium was built. There is hard photographic evidence that there are no more than four trees in that grove that predate the stadium itself, which is only about 80 years old. There is not a single credible source who says otherwise. Of those four trees, two are in the lower grove and won't be disturbed, one is a redwood that will be relocated (the oaks cannot be relocated, but redwoods have a good chance of survival), and the last (which is one of the oldest) is going to be removed regardless of whether the stadium plan goes forward because it is showing signs of distress and is dying. Thus, the plan calls for the destruction of absolutely zero trees that are over 100 years old.

Bottom line -- there is absolutely nothing extraordinary about the trees in that grove, other than the fact that they exist in Berkeley, where people get their panties in a bunch when it is suggested that trees be removed in the interests of the university and/or the athletic program. If they were removing the trees and building a museum, this would not be a problem.

Of course, there has been all sorts of misinformation spread about this -- in part simply by virtue of biased people making stuff up to strengthen their arguments or make their cause seem more legitimate, but also no doubt in part by the people who own homes in the area and who are throwing every silly lawsuit they can at the university. (They have gone as far as forming an organization designed to protect the Tightwad Hill view, since the proposed stadium renovation would partially obscure the view of the field from Tightwad Hill...they have actually sued the university claiming that they don't have a right to construct the facilities in a way that would compromise Tightwad Hill...unbelievable). This is hardly the little guy standing up against the big bad university. There are a lot of wealthy people and local government interests at play here, and they are spreading misinformation.

The plan calls for the removal of 91 trees, and the 142 new trees to be planted, many of which will be located around the new athletic center. How this is somehow detrimental to the environment and ecological resources on campus is completely baffling to me.

Arrogant as the university may be (and of course they are), drawing the line at this particular place is not only arbitrary, but it is extremely detrimental to Cal, and to Cal's athletic program, which is just now coming into its own as being worthy of respect. This, of course, is something that the tree sitters care absolutely nothing about...but the fact remains that the football program under Jeff Tedford is becoming a significant source of income for Cal and the athletic program generally. The athletic facilities are absurdly outdated and of notoriously poor quality, and the Cal football program is consistently losing top recruits as a result. Given that it is currently college football recruiting season, the timing of the hissy fit going on in the oak trees could not be worse or more damaging to Cal.

Though football revenue does channel into the athletic program, the school does benefit insofar as money from the general fund is not needed to fund athletics. Very few university athletic programs are able to fully support themselves. Most dip into the general fund. The rebirth of Cal football has Cal well on its way to a fully self supported athletic program, which is good for all students -- even those who don't care at all about athletics.

Aside from the important financial interests at stake, it should be noted that while people who protest things like this don't tend to be big football fans, there are tens of thousands of students and alumni who do care about Cal football. I can't help but feel that the tree sitters get at least a little bit of satisfaction out of thumbing their noses at these people. From what I can tell, this protest is as much about hostility toward athletics (particularly big time athletics like football) as it is about defense of the trees. While I think that a lot of these people are genuinely misinformed, I can't help but feel that most of them simply don't care. This is the issue du jour, an opportunity to hang out with your fellow "progressive" friends and feel like you are fighting the good fight. Normally, I'm honestly all for that sort of thing...but this time, the kids seem to be doing more harm than good.

Tuesday, January 23, 2007

Marshawn in Silver and Black??

Recent quote from Marshawn Lynch in an online chat on espn.com --

"I bleed black and silver. I'm with them 100 percent."

Music to my ears. And maybe Al Davis' too.

As a Raider fan, I would love to see Marshawn in silver and black. He was born for it. The kid is all Oak-Town.

However, the team doesn't seem to be going in a great direction right now, and I don't know that boy wonder Kiffin is going to be much different...but as long as Marshawn performs well, being a Raider wouldn't hurt his career.

Rumor has it that the Raiders are looking to trade down. There may be a deal in the works to send Mike Vick and the Falcons first rounder (#10 I believe) to the Raiders in exchange for the #1 pick and Moss or Porter or both. If that goes down, I wouldn't be surprised to see the Raiders snatch up Lynch at #10. Maybe a tiny bit of a reach there, but I think he'd make them look smart for doing it.

Even if that doesn't happen, I have to think the Raiders will make something happen to get out of the first pick. The top guys are QB's and Davis doesn't like rookie QB's. They have to be looking either WR or RB in the first round, as they are likely losing many of their starters in the skill positions this offseason (LaMont Jordan is due a big check and is likely to be cut, Moss and Porter are both malcontents who the Raiders will be looking to ship off, and nobody else on the roster is really starter quality).

RB is a good position to get an immediate impact player on the offensive side of the ball in the draft. The Raiders have to find a way to land either AP or Lynch. I'd prefer Lynch, but I'm a little biased...

Thursday, January 04, 2007

Stanford Football -- They Suck

Furd's whining about their academics as inhibiting their ability to compete falls on deaf ears with me. I think that the idea that 'Furd sucks because of their academic standards is not only wrong -- it's arrogant.

It's like they are saying that they are worse than you because they are actually better than you.

If 'Furd can't compete because of academics, how come they had a long run as a dominant basketball program under Montgomery? How come they had a solid football program and went to a Rose Bowl under Willingham? How come they have (according to their own athletic website) more national championships since 1980 than any other school?

http://gostanford.cstv.com/trads/stan-trads-champs.html

Academic prowess is a double edged sword. Sure, 'Furd has to turn down good athletes because of grades...but at the same time, they, like Cal, will often get athletes who are looking for a top school and are willing to turn down a more prestigious athletic department to get the better degree. Their QB of the future, Kiilsgard, is a great example...and there are many more.

Also, 'Furd has resources to throw at the kids who they do bring in to ensure they don't flunk out. Resources that I'm sure the Arizona States of the world would drool over as they watch their kids become academically ineligible.

Face it, 'Furd. Your football team and basketball team have gone down the toilet because of bad coaching hires and the natural ebb and flow of collegiate sports...not because you are disadvantaged by your advantages.

Monday, January 01, 2007

With the First Pick in the 2007 NFL Draft...

...the Oakland Raiders select...hopefully nobody.

QB is a big position of need for the Raiders, but this is not the year to grab a franchise QB in my opinion. Brady Quinn is likely to be the top overall pick, but I'm not a big believer in him. JaMarcus Russel is billed to be the second best QB in the draft...ditto on him.

I would like to see the Raiders trade down and take a RB...either Peterson or Lynch. Either of those guys could come in and contribute right away. With LaMont Jordan likely getting cut this offseason (he is due for a lot of money, and has shown himself to be clearly not worth it), the Raiders really need a solid young every-down back. Justin Fargas isn't durable enough to be the guy.

Obviously, I'm partial to Marshawn Lynch because he is arguably the best player coming out of Cal in decades. Also, the guy just looks like an Oakland Raider. His nappy hair and grill are all Oaktown. Marshawn is a guy who is big on family, and his family is in the east bay...so it seems like a good fit in many respects.

Unfortunately, I don't think the market for the top pick is going to be all that hot this year. Brady Quinn is the consensus #1 at this point, but I don't see him generating a lot of trade-up interest. Al Davis doesn't get a top pick every day (though he will probably be getting more in the near future), and he's not going to just give it away. On the other hand, not even Al Davis is crazy enough to go with someone other than Quinn with the first pick in this draft. There really is no clear competition for the top spot. It's pretty much Quinn all the way.

Dream scenario for the Raiders: Trade down a few spots, grab AP plus a first rounder next year and a third rounder this year, and get Troy Smith at the top of the second round. Then draft some O-Line.

Likely scenario for the Raiders: They are stuck with Quinn, who gets murdered just like Andrew Walter has been.

I'm also interested to see what the Lions do. Maybe they are the ones who will give the Raiders some value, because it seems to me that Quinn is a great fit there. They are also in need of a franchise QB, and Mike Martz could turn Quinn into a gunslinger in the Marc Bulger mold, which definitely could work. The funny thing is, the #2 pick in this draft probably should be WR Calvin Johnson, but if Millen picks another first round WR this year, he might get shot. Detroit is running out of patience.