Sunday, July 30, 2006

Your Turn

Hey blog fans...sorry for the long period of time with no posts, but work has gotten the best of me lately. How about rather than giving you the answers, this time I give you some questions.

College football:

- Who will win the National Championship next year and why?
- Is this the year that the rest of the Pac-10 catches up to USC?
- Who is the most overrated player in college football? (My vote: Brady Quinn).

Baseball:

- Who is going to win the AL West? NL West?
- Are the Red Sox invincible? Are they one big trade away from being invincible?
- Why does everyone but Billy Beane seem to think that Barry Zito is getting traded?

Basketball:

- Who is the favorite to win it all next year?
- Is it possible that Big-Benless Detroit would miss the playoffs?
- Why doesn't anyone want AI?

Football:

- Signing Reggie Bush...what took so long?
- Who will be a Cowboy longer...the tuna or T.O.?
- Who will win a Super Bowl first...Peyton or Eli? (My guess...Eli).

Let's get some debate going on any or all of these questions...

1 Comments:

Blogger AdmiralLando said...

Here's my own answers:

College football:
1) Ohio State. Though they lose the soul of their defense in AJ Hawk, defense is never a big concern for the Buckeyes. They will have the talent to shut down opposing offenses. Also, what Ohio State will have this year that is unusual for them is a powerful offense. Their tough games come early (Texas and Penn State), and they shouldn't be that tough. If they can get through Texas, they should be able to roll over Penn State and then crush the rest of the Big 10 schedule on the way to the title game. In a season when every team has glaring weaknesses, the Buckeyes look pretty strong.

2)I think USC finishes THIRD in the Pac-10 this year, behind Cal and Oregon. Yes, I'm serious. I just don't see anything at USC that scares me. The defense should be good but not great. The offense is going to make a lot of mistakes. While this will be a rebuilding year for USC, the rest of the Pac-10 is ready to blow up. Assuming Nate Longshore can stay healthy, Cal is going to punish the opposition this year with stifling defense and the nation's best running back (maybe second to Adrian Peterson...we'll see). USC will lose 3 or 4 games this year, and is looking at a Sun Bowl.

3) You know my vote here. Brady Quinn is a good quarterback, but they are talking about him like he's the second coming of Joe Montana. He should have a solid season, leading the Irish to a BCS bowl, but not a championship.

Baseball:

1) AL West will be the A's. Angels don't have the arms or bats to keep up, and when the A's finally get healthy they will be a contender.

NL West will be the Dodgers. Greg Maddox was a HUGE midseason deal, and will tip the scales heavily toward a young, talented Dodger team that will own the NL West starting next year, and continuing for at least five years.

2) Invincible? No. Their offense is off the hook, but their pitching is not deep enough to write off the rest of the AL. If the Yanks keep playing the way they have, the Red Sox might not even win their division.

3) People thought Zito was getting traded because they don't understand how Billy Beane thinks. Sure, the A's have no hope of retaining Zito, but that's not the point. The point is, the A's have an ace on their staff who doesn't cost that much money relative to other pitchers of his calibre. Buying his services for the second half of this year at the current rate is still a hell of a deal. Nobody's going to give up enough value to rent Barry Zito to justify giving him up down the stretch in a pennant race. Aside from that, as numbers-oriented as Beane is, he is not unaware of the message it would send his team to ship the leader of their rotation in the middle of a pennant race. It was obviously not going to happen.

Basketball:

1) Mavs or Spurs, depending on who wins the inevitable playoff series between the two of them. I'd go with Mavs.

2) It is possible that the Pistons would miss the playoffs...except that the Eastern Conference is only a few teams deep. Pistons are going to win barely more games than they lose, sneak into the playoffs, and have an early exit. The guts have been ripped out of this team.

3) Nobody wants AI because he would require you to completely revamp your team to build around him. There isn't a single team in basketball that wants to do that, although Atlanta probably should.

Football:

1) Reggie took a while to sign in part because of complications related to being the consensus #1 pick but going #2, but also partially due to the fact that he was drafted by the Saints. Very poor ownership there.

2) T.O. will outlast Tuna. I think Owens cleans up his act a bit in Dallas...at least enough to get by. He might retire a Cowboy. Tuna will retire again soon.

3) Eli will win a Superbowl before Peyton does. It is possible that Peyton never will.

12:30 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home